Janice LaNita

Standard

My mother looks for miracles in the every day.  A chance encounter.  A casual conversation. A random passage of Scripture she happened to come across that spoke into her circumstances at the moment. I used to think she was almost superstitious.  Now I understand she simply looks for God in everything–and she expects to see Him looking back!

I don’t worry so much now that I’m “reading too much” into the same sort of everyday “God winks.”  I’d rather look for God too much than miss him completely when he’s right in front of my nose.  My mother taught me that.

My mother is Janice LaNita Hood. She is:

  • Southern Gospel
  • Sweet Tea “with extra ice and lemon, please”
  • Suppertime Storyteller
  • Shoe shopper extraordinaire
  • Southern Living decor on a shoestring budget
  • “Jay-un” or “Jay-un-nice,” depending on if you are from Tennessee or Alabama
  • “Red”
  • Lucy’s daughter and Ray Ray’s princess
  • Ron’s ever lovin’
  • Pam and Kay’s “Mither”
  • Isaac, Michael, Brad, and Brian’s “Nana”
  • Clancy’s “Woof”

She blessed us with unconditional love, a heritage of unflinching and unashamed faith, and a model of what it means to be a faithful wife and friend. She she gave us a stable home where we might not always get what we wanted, but we never lacked  anything we really needed. Her mother did the same. Her mother’s mother did to. So did my Father’s mother, and her mother.  I am embarrassingly rich with a heritage of amazing women. I hope I do them proud.

I love you, Mama.

4 responses »

  1. Why is it I always look to see who is standing behind me that you may be talking about? This sounds like something I would write about my mother. But I love and appreciate your thoughts and the gift certificate to get pampered.

    Love you and don’t mind sharing you with Marilyn. My hat is off to her for raising four boys, especially as active as Scott, Mitch and Barry. T.J. seemed to be a little more reserve and quite when we were around. I’m not sure I could have taught them how to do things “the proper way” as you wrote about in one of your blogs.

  2. Instead of saying “What ‘chew’ talking ’bout, boy?” I must ask “Who you talking ’bout, girl?”
    Thanks and I love you.

Leave a Reply

