In our image

Standard

So God said, “Let us make man in our image.” If we are really “like” God, in the way that we are like our fathers or our mothers, think of the implications when you consider the beauty of creation. Take a look at some of the wonder works of God that I saw yesterday at Selby Gardens in Sarasota.

photo by Kay Johnson

What artistry!  If I accept that God is Creator, I am breathless when I walk about God’s museum and take in the show.

photo by Kay Johnson

What kind of mind creates this?

photo by Kay Johnson

Or this?

photo by Kay Johnson

Or this?

photo by Kay Johnson

And if I am “like” God, does that mean I have some smidgeon of this kind of creative power?

photo by Kay Johnson

I am stunned at the idea that we could surprise, awe, delight, or cause others to wonder in the way that these images caused me to stand amazed and mesmerized. But haven’t we all been moved in similar ways by music, or a painting, or a book or poem?

( God had fun with this one. Pink and white "paint" splatters all over the leaves)) Photo by Kay Johnson

And, is it just me, or do you get the sneaking suspicion that God was…well…having fun, when he made this stuff?

Cocao nuts (Yes! As in–this is where chocolate comes from!) Photo by Kay Johnson

There is joy here.  There is delight.  And we feel both as we look at the end results.

photo by Kay Johnson

I hope my own work, whatever it is, will have the same effect.

photo by Kay Johnson

P.S. Happy Birthday, Barry. One of the things I love most about you is the joy you take in life, in your family and friends, in your music, and in me.  I KNOW that when God made you, he was having SO MUCH FUN.  I can just imagine God saying, “Just WAIT til they get a load of this one!”  Haartelijk Gefeliciteerd,  Schaat.  Ik hou van jou.

Barry Johnson. Photo by Kay Johnson

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

