Elizabeth Gilbert’s Ideas on How to Survive Creativity

Standard

Just ran across this TED talk by Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love.  Gilbert wonders aloud about whether creativity is internal and innate, or whether it comes from somewhere outside ourselves. The difference may be critical to the survival of the artist.  As a Christian, I found myself nodding. Hmmm. I think this is what we call the Holy Spirit. The Spirit of God the Creator. The Spirit that was there at creation “hovering” over the emptiness like a brooding hen. (See Genesis 1:1) This 19-minute talk is well worth the time.

2 responses »

  1. I would say half ideas for cartoons come from thinking(internal) and many others seem to come from outside of me, as though I am being fed. I am entertained by what flows from my pen. It is very mysterious but, hey, who cares as long as the stuff keeps arriving?

Leave a Reply

